Dream: Slaying the Plesiosauria

It started on an island. I was on a trip with classmates (an odd mishmash of people I know from college and high school). I don’t remember much of what happened on the island, but it was someone’s birthday, and I was commanded to dance in celebration. I refused.

We were boarding a plane to leave the island. I was searching frantically through my bag for some kind of ID that everybody else had. All I could find was my passport and boarding pass. Would they let me on? They did. I let out a sigh of relief.

When on the plane, I go over to a bunch of my college friends and sit down with them. The interior of the plane resembles a fast-food restaurant, except with more open space. My friends’ table is fully occupied, so I go over to another table. This table has an open seat, and is populated by friends from my high school. They are all Asian.

Next thing I recall, I am in a house. I have a rifle. One of my friends and I are on a mission of some sort. We go out for the purpose of reconnaissance. I see our enemies exploring an abandoned building. I lift up the rifle, but I can’t line up a good shot, and it’s not worth blowing our cover. I go back to the house and go to sleep.

When I wake up, there’s an emergency. It is pouring rain outside. I know that I need to go out and take out the bad guys. I grab the rifle and fumble around with some gloves before deciding that I don’t need them. I exit the house through a door that is a bit below street level. There is a staircase that leads up to the street. I start climbing it. They’re coming. I lie prone on the staircase and watch. I don’t know how many of them there are, so I don’t want to shoot the first one that comes by. Instead, I watch.

Only one passes by, but I am now able to track him.

Next thing I know, the house morphs into a pool of some kind, and what appears to be the Loch Ness Monster (in retrospect, it seems to be a plesiosauria) emerges and swims toward me. It is going to kill me if I don’t act.

I dodge its first attack. The house has continued to morph, and now I’m in a large cylindrical chamber with high walls and a pool in the middle. I swim to the edge of the pool and get out. There is a few square meters of dry ground for me to stand on. The monster is coming at me. I lift the rifle and shoot it in the head.

It looks stunned, but not dead. Slowly, a gate drops between my little patch of dry ground and the pool. I wait. And the gate lifts, just as slowly. I shoot the monster in the head once more. The gate does the same thing. A third time, I shoot the monster in the head. This time, the gate comes down, and the ground beneath me starts rising, bringing me back to the surface.

Leave a Reply

