Read the Classics

I just finished reading The Aeneid for the first time, and I must say that it was well worth the read. When I was younger, I didn’t care much for the classics. Mostly, I was interested in more modern literature. In particular, I love Dostoevsky and Steinbeck and David Foster Wallace. Mostly 19th and 20th century figures. The Aeneid is old. The Iliad and The Odyssey are even older.

But there’s a reason that people still read them today. They’re just that good. It makes sense that stories that continue being told for thousands of years are generally pretty darn good stories. I’m glad I read them, and you should read them, too. I used Robert Fitzgerald’s translations, but there are a whole slough of options.

I don’t know which of the classics I’ll read next. I got Herodotus’ Histories from the Strand a while ago, so at some point I’d like to read that. I also want to read through more of Plato and Aristotle, since my exposure to them has been relatively limited. There is a wealth of knowledge and wisdom in the western canon; I would be a fool not to take advantage of it.

1 thought on “Read the Classics”

  1. The Histories is pretty great, if a little long. Its actual value as a ‘history’ is perhaps dubious, but it contains stoned scythians, one-legged men, and giant monster-ants – what’s not to like? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

